Target Audience

Primary Research – SurveyMonkey

I wrote a survey about what an audience would prefer in terms of genre for a apocalyptic based film. This is the survey:

survey.png

After the first day I had 5 responses.

I went through these responses and used them to help me with how I would make my film.

Question 1:

q1

From this primary research on SurveyMonkey, I had found that the most favoured genre was action followed by thriller, adventure and romance.

So from this question I have already found out that people will be most engaged with action so I will include this within my film to reach a large audience. I will also include some aspects from adventure films and horror films to widen that audience.q2

In question 2, I found out that if it was an apocalypse based film then the audience would like to see horror and action in the film. This means I will try to make my film a Action-Horror.

q3

Question 3 was purely for the purpose of finding out who will watch the film. I can then model it around what these age groups find interesting and will engage them.

q4

Question 4 was to help me find out what the background story of the film is going to be. The film is going to based in a fallout environment in some way but I needed to find out a realistic way to explain how it all happened. Biological warfare seemed to get the most interest so I stated researching into it. I found out that biological warfare can be executed in 3 different ways. 1. Biological attack. This is where the harmful element is launched on a group of people or a country through force. 2. One person gets infected with the harmful element and they spread it when they are in the targeted area. 3. Falsely creating a cure to a disease and releasing it to the public. This has been called a Trojan because of the story about the Greek war. ‘The Trojan Horse is a tale from the Trojan War about the subterfuge that the Greeks used to enter the city of Troy and win the war. In the canonical version, after a fruitless 10-year siege, the Greeks constructed a huge wooden horse, and hid a select force of men inside.’ This allowed them to gain the enemies trust and accept them and allowing them behind their line of defence. The same concept goes for the biological warfare.

q5

Question 5 was a pretty simple one. It was mainly to help me choose cast to suit the audience. You can see the male lead role was most popular, towering over the female role at 4 to 1.

q6

Question 6 was just about asking who people think would be most likely to watch a film of sorts. In this case it is a male audience. This means that I know to base it around action rather than, for example romance. This is because boys probably would be more interested in action than romance. (And yes, I am aware I spelt ‘audience’ wrong in this question..)

